Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

I would starve…

Posted by mandyhuckins on August 11, 2009

if I had to grow my own food!  I tried to grow one little tomato plant in a pot on my back porch.  I eagerly watched as this little green ball grew and grew.  It started to turn red – my mouth started to water.  Then, it split open and when I picked it, it looked like this:

CIMG1752

Blast!  Rotten!

The inside looked like this when I cut into it – delicious – but, I was too afraid to try it.

CIMG1753

Thank goodness I can still go to the supermarket and buy vegetables other people have grown.

One Response to “I would starve…”

  1. Lori said

    Yeah…I wouldn’t eat it either. John gave up on his tomatoes after he also waited ever so patiently for them to grow and bloom…he was one day away from the juiciest tomato he’d ever seen….and the DEER got it! So…the whole tomato plant is apparently now dead to him.

    Thank God for farmers.

Leave a Reply

 
