Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Yard Sale Bonanza…

Posted by mandyhuckins on May 18, 2009

For my entry to Southern Hospitality’s Thrifty Treasures party SouthernHospThriftyTreasures copy (and you really should click over there to check out what Rhoda and all the linkers found this weekend too – so much fun!) I submit the following “treasures”:

CIMG1613

I bought 10 of these little lampshades.  I have read several blog posts regarding these little beauties and how they might be painted and have tassels added to be totally transformed.  But, I don’t even mind them the way they are – black faux alligator on the outside and gold on the inside.  I just popped them up in the dining room to show you what they look like, although since we are moving in a few weeks, I will very quickly be taking them down.  Anyway, I got 10 of these for $3.00 – that is 30 cents each! 

CIMG1614

I couldn’t pass up this little note card set (11 in all) with coordinating lined envelopes for $1.50.  I can envision hosting a girls night in or a cocktail party or a bachelorette party at some point and these will be perfect!  At the same sale, I also purchased a spool of blue ribbon for $.25 – I really want to bulk up my stash of ribbon for use in wrapping lovely presents.  For examples of what I aspire to create, but really have no hope of reproducing, check out :A Gift Wrapped Life - Gifting Tips, Advice and Inspiration

It is truly divine!

CIMG1618

At my third stop (a local subdivision was having a community yard sale day – yay!), I found this shelf for $3.  While it is cute as is, I could paint it – it all depends on where I decide to use it in my new house.

CIMG1612

Here is the bread machine I bought.  I just took the picture a few moments ago and as you can see, it is sitting on my kitchen counter – what you cannot see, or more importantly what you cannot smell (and I am sorry about that) is that it is making bread.  I have toyed with the idea of a bread machine for a while and was even thinking about researching them and adding it to my gift wish list.  When I came across this, I thought I should give it a try.  It was priced at $15 and I am sure they would have gone down, but unfortunately, I had run out of cash and I had to ask them to hold it while I went to the ATM.  When I showed back up with a $20, I didn’t think I had a firm bargaining leg to stand on.  Too bad.  But, good lesson learned – not to self: never go out thrifing or yard sale shopping without lots of money in small bills. 

The last stop (with my newly replenished wallet) yielded some fun results.

CIMG1615

Basket – Free!

CIMG1616

I am thinking that this would be so cute if I painted over the mirror with chalkboard paint, which of course, I learned from reading all of the crafty/decorating blogs out there.  Can I paint directly over glass?  I guess I will find out…I think it will be cute in a kitchen or entry way.  The front has a compartment divided into three spaces that might work for sorting mail or something.

And, finally….

CIMG1617

This croquet set, which I thought might be a fun activity in the yard, especially when we have family visiting or are hosting an office party.  I paid $10 for it and when I got in the car, I started wondering if that might have been too much.  I had visions of all the $3 furniture you guys have gotten!  But, when I got home and looked it up online, I saw what appears to be an identical set at LL Bean for $129!  Exciting!

All in all, I spent about $40, but I had a wonderful morning and I think I got some really nice things.  I will let you know how the bread turns out – keep your fingers crossed for me.

7 Responses to “Yard Sale Bonanza…”

  1. Toni said

    WOW…you got some really awesome deals today and I love everything you got. I picked up two shelves for $2 total, like the one you have. It’s white and I think I’m going to paint it. GREAT finds. 🙂
    Toni

  2. Mandy, love your deals! I think you did great. The bread making machine will really come in handy. And those old croquet games are so much fun. We used to have a set when I was growing up. Glad you joined the party!

  3. Mrs. C said

    Nice going!!! I like the idea of the chalk board paint on the mirror.

    I enjoyed my visit. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Lori said

    Girl… you have some good yard sales to go to…around here, not so much! I must admit, though, I’m a bit inspired!

  5. I love seeing what everyone has found in their treasure hunting. I need to dig out my bread machine & use it. I can just smell the bread. I wish I had a croquet set. But I only have a small patch of grass in my backyard & my front yard slopes too much. The balls would roll into the street & down the gutter. We played all the time at my Grandparents house when I was a kid. Brings back wonderful memories thinking about it.

  6. Mary Lou said

    Wow! You really did well! That bread machine is such a great find for the price you paid. Enjoy it. And those notecards….so fun!
    Mary Lou

  7. Olive Rue said

    Hi Mandy. I’m sorry about the delay to your comment. No. You cannot paint over the mirror. I mean you could. BUT, it won’t last. I tried to take the cheap way out and I painted over one. In a matter of a couple of days it was chipping and you could see the mirror below the paint. Not recommeneded. Be sure to check back on my blog later this evening because I’m going to post the reveal on that ugly mirror, plus I’m going to post the instructions for making a chalkboard.

    Thanks for stopping by. I love the treasures you found. I’m off to look around your blog somemore.

Leave a Reply

 
