Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

To the Maxx…

Posted by mandyhuckins on May 4, 2009

I LOVE TJ Maxx.  But, she is a fickle friend – sometimes she has tons of things I love and sometimes she has nothing.  That is part of what makes going there fun and exciting – you never know what you might find.  I have learned that it is best not to go there with an agenda.  Just have an open mind, see what you can find and have lots of fun!

On Saturday, I had what I would call a very successful trip.  Here are the things I decided I couldn’t live without:

 cimg1564

“Home” Sign $4.99 – this inspired me to clean off the junky top of my refridgerator and repurpose the blue and white vase filled with lemon branches for a look that makes me happy every time I look at it.

 cimg15631

Hand towels for the bathroom $2.99 each (I think I will have the striped one embroidered with an “H” in brown thread)

cimg1570

Tea light holder $2.99 – this can be used for candlelight baths or in other displays around the house.  They  only had one, but if they would have had more, I would have bought them.  The tag says it is from Williams Sonoma Home and was originally priced at $12.99.

cimg1569

Picture Frame for Dancer’s photo $7.99

cimg1572

Adorable bunny figurine $6.99 – I have been wanting a little bunny figurine for the house.  I saw one I liked at Target for $14.99 and I was keeping my eye on it to see if it would be marked down, but I like this one even more. 

cimg1576

Sports bras on clearance for $5 and $7 each – I need these for riding.  I recently discovered that the bouncing “girls” (small as they might be) aren’t so attractive.  I hate to spend a fortune on something so utilitarian, so I was thrilled to find these marked down even from their original TJ Maxx savings.  The manufacturer’s price tags are $28.00 and $30.00 respectively – they were $12.99 regular TJ Maxx price.  So that results in an 82% savings on one and a 73% savings on the other.  That is hard to beat!

cimg1575

Ceramic grapeleaf platter from Portugal $12.99 – this would make a nice Mother’s Day gift (they also had a beautiful leaf shaped one that I might have to go back for), but I am keeping this one.

I also got a 50 count package of raspberry flavored white tea and something else that I am sending to my sister (because of her dedicated readership of this blog, it cannot be posted yet, but trust me, it is very cute and I think she will love it.)

As I checked my google reader in the midst of preparing this post, I noticed that one of my favorite bloggers, Layla from the Lettered Cottage, also has a post on TJ Maxx.  Check it out here:http://theletteredcottage.blogspot.com/2009/05/drop-cloth-drape-update-trip-to-tj-maxx.html

Isn’t it interesting that two people can go into the same store and see totally different things?  Because she and I live in the same area, it is likely that we were even in the same store.  I did see those pillows and admired them.

One Response to “To the Maxx…”

  1. […] Comments (RSS) « To the Maxx… […]

Leave a Reply

 
