Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Flea Market Finds…

Posted by mandyhuckins on May 4, 2009

Inspired by Rhoda’s weekly challenge at Southern Hospitality  SouthernHospThriftyTreasures copy  http://southernhospitality-rhoda.blogspot.com/2009/05/thrifting-with-daisy-cottage.html I went out “thrifting” again on Saturday morning early.  I hit a few yard sales and didn’t find anything, but I was able to pick up a few items at a flea market held in the parking lot of church.  Here is what I found:

cimg1561

This cute little topiary for $.75!  When I took it up to the church volunteer to pay for it, she said, “well, this is darling.  How did I overlook this?  I wish I would have picked it up.”  Too bad sister – it is mine!  Ha, ha, ha.  Doesn’t it look darling in this horsey grouping in my office? 

cimg1562

This picture frame was $.10. A dime people…I am not sure it is going to work out for the project I had in mind, but I am sure I can use it for something at that price.

cimg1560

This bag/purse was $2.00 and was the most “expensive” item of the day.  I think I will use it as a re-usable gift bag.  You know, you would pay more than $2 for a paper gift bag at Target.  I think someone will be thrilled to receive a gift from me in this cute bag.  (If it turns out to be you, and you are reading this, act surprised and charmed.)

cimg1558

I think this was the deal of the day.  This sage green and gold table runner with a fern print was $.50.  It looks great on my kitchen table and the color ties in perfectly with the framed spoon project I completed last week.

cimg1568

I didn’t come back with anything big or splashy, but for spending only $3.35 – I would call it a successful shopping trip.

After thrifting, I was still in a shopping mood, so I stopped in at a lovely store here in Montgomery called Southern Homes and Gardens.  I wanted to purchase a Hydrangea for my mom.

Check.

I also found this iron towel holder.  It was on sale for $11.95 from $19.95, so I grabbed it.  It is an example of something that I wouldn’t have known to look for.  But, I hate how kitchen hand towels have to hang on the handles of drawers and cabinets.  They are always getting in the way when you want to open or shut a cabinet and/or dropping onto the floor.  This solves the problem in a very cute way.  And, cute or seasonal towels can be more prominently displayed.  I think it needs a bow or something to dress it up…

cimg1571

cimg1574

I also found these wood colored Styrofoam eggs on sale for 50% off of $4.95.  I thought they were cute as is, but they also might be fun to paint next Easter.

cimg1559

After finishing at SH&G, I headed over to TJ Maxx.  Read about my success there in a separate post:https://mandyhuckins.wordpress.com/2009/05/04/to-the-maxx/

One Response to “Flea Market Finds…”

  1. Hey, Mandy! Thanks for stopping by again. I just love all your little finds. That topiary is great, I have a few little ones like that too. I just love to see what everyone finds every week. Even though we all have some different tastes, it just goes to show, there is something out there for everyone.

Leave a Reply

 
