Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Framed spoons….

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 27, 2009

One night while reading blogs, I discovered this delightful idea to frame a piece of silverware over at “The Nesting Place” : http://nestingplacenc.blogspot.com/2009/04/frame-it-framed-fork.html

Three silver spoons I found last year on e-Bay engraved with our last name came to mind.  I thought these were so cool when I found them (apparently, there was an old hotel in Oklahoma or something with our last name – just goes to show that it does pay to eBay yourself sometimes).  I wasn’t sure what I would do with them and they have been sitting in a drawer gathering tarnish ever since.  When I saw the Nester’s great idea, I knew that would be an excellent way to display my treasures.

I wanted oval frames like she used, and in fact, that it what I bought at first, but 5x7s were too small for the long iced-tea spoons and 8x10s were too huge for the project in general.  So, I compromised and bought 8×10 rectangular frames with oval mattes.  The first time I tried to glue the scrap book paper to the glass underneath, you could see the glue lines.  But, I think I figured it out and now they are hanging in my kitchen.  I used textured sage green scrap book paper in the middle frame and then a sage and cream patterned paper on the other two.  I think the paper cost .59 or .79 a sheet, a roll of ribbon for $1.98 (with some left over to use elsewhere) the frames were on sale at Michael’s for $3.50 each and the mattes were also on sale for $1.98 each.  Unfortunately, I can’t remember how much I paid for the spoons themselves, but for under $20, I created a unique way to display them.  Thanks so much to the Nester for her original idea!  Check out her blog for more great decorating ideas.

cimg1453

cimg1456

One Response to “Framed spoons….”

  1. I just posted my framed fork 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
