Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

It is good to be back…

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 15, 2009

I finally got to sit on my girl this evening after not riding for nine days.  (Yes, I did get back to Montgomery on Easter Sunday in time for a ride, but I decided not to, so that I could come home and spend some time with my hubby.  That was fun too, and I didn’t regret it, but I was disappointed that it rained and stormed yesterday afternoon so that I couldn’t ride until today.) 

I had some friends ride her while I was gone on my tour of America with the German girls so that she could get out and stretch her legs, but I still wasn’t sure what to expect.  She was pretty great!  She was nice and calm and collected right up when I asked her to.   I probably only rode for about 25 minutes (with plenty of walk breaks), but it was a nice ride and I felt that I didn’t need to push her on my first time back.  However, the British trainer is coming back to our area and I will try to ride with her on Sunday or Monday.  I am very interested to see what she has to say….hopefully nothing insulting about Dancer!  Dancer has started doing and interesting new trick – because I am holding her straight through the neck/shoulders/body, she is now just moving sideways to avoid doing something difficult (like a transition up to canter).  But, I used that later in the ride to get some nice shoulder ins and leg yields.  Cool.

One of my promising little riding students was there tonight riding her pony and she has always wanted to sit on Dancer.  So, after I finished working, I asked her if she wanted to get on and cool Dancer down.  Boy, did she ever!  I think I made her night.  She sure looked cute and little up there on that big horse.  Dancer was so sweet and walked and halted right on cue.  I even clipped on the lunge line and let her try a circle or two of trot.  Dancer was a dream.

Have I mentioned how much I love my mare? 

Oh, also, how cool is this?  A lady I met very briefly at the dressage show a few weeks ago sent me a letter.  She got my address from the show organizer (which could have been a little scary, but it was all on the up and up).  In the letter she reminds me of the short conversation we had and then encloses an article she photocopied for me from a publication.  The article is about a horse that is completely blind (from Uveitis – the same disease that Dancer has), but that competes at fourth level dressage!  She said that when she saw the article, she thought of me and Dancer and just wanted me to know that if the worst ever does happen to us, our riding career is not over.  I was overwhelmed!  She is a complete stranger to me, but Dancer and I stayed on her mind and she took the time to do this.  People aren’t all bad – there is hope for the world after all.

Leave a Reply

 
