Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Day 15…

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 13, 2009

This was the last chance shopping day before they left America.  So, every last dollar needed to be spent.  It also meant a lot of going back and forth to places we had already been so that they could pick up things they didn’t buy before or return things they decided they no longer needed.  My mom and I stopped in at the BCBG outlet and I bought two things I don’t need:  a brown corduroy blazer with a ruffled collar and an adorable chocolate brown, lightweight trench coat.  Both were on sale for $39 from an original price of over $150.  I just don’t have the will-power to say no to that kind of bargain.  Especially when the items are so cute!  I wish I could post pictures of them, but I left them behind at my parent’s house.  I am going back in a month for a wedding and I will pick them up then.  I left my suitcase and all the winter things I had taken to Chicago to help make room in the car.  Seriously, that brown trench coat might be the cutest thing I own.  I can’t stand it.

I took the girls and my mom to lunch at Chic fil A.  If you don’t have one in your area, I am sorry for you.  It really is delicious and the girls loved it.  It seems that my mom, sister and I will frequently have lunch there while out shopping, so it is also sort of a tradition.  By the time we left the mall, we were all exhausted.  Especially my poor mom.  We dropped the girls at the house so they could start packing and she and I went for one more grocery run.  (Completely lost track, but I think 8 in 15 days!)  That night, we let the girls pick what they wanted to eat and they picked Mexican.  It turned out to be a lot more trouble than I thought it would.  We had tortillas and hard shell tacos, grilled steak and chicken, refried beans, black beans, home made mexican rice, home made guacamole and a thousand little bowls of toppings (lettuce, cheese, sour cream, green olives, black olives, cilantro, tomatoes, salsa).  It was quite a spread.  It was very delicious, but in my mom’s typical fashion, it was way too much food. 

We weren’t finished with dinner until 9:30 and it was straight to bed at that point.  I felt badly because I had wanted the girls to be able to go to miniature golf, but there just wasn’t time.  There were also a lot of other things we could have seen/done in Myrtle Beach.  But, I think they had a fun time.  When I asked them if there was anything else they would have purchased if they had more money, or if there was anything they were sad about having to leave behind, they said no.  That is pretty good….

Leave a Reply

 
