Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Day 14…

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 13, 2009

This morning, we hit the other outlet park.  The majority of the time was divided between American Eagle and Nike.  I also had time to sneak off to J Crew – in which they had no interest.  My mom accompanied us – so she and I had a good time just talking and hanging out while the girls shopped. 

We had packed a picnic lunch for the girls and we got them settled on the beach while we went and had fried seafood for lunch at the beachside restaurant, Bumz.  Now, before you berate me for sending the girls off with sandwiches while I had the good stuff, let me tell you that when I asked them what they did not like – they said “seafood.”  My hopes of taking them for all-you-can-eat seafood were dashed.  I can’t go to Myrtle Beach without having some seafood – so this was the compromise.  After a leisurely lunch, my mom and I went down to the beach and were surprised to find an empty blanket – all of the girls were in their bikinis in the water – up to their necks!  The air temperature was very warm that day – upper 70’s, but the wind was really blowing at the beach and I am sure the water temperature was frigid.  As my mom and I sat there in our pants, we were a bit chilled.   By the time we could get the girls to leave the beach, they had been there for 2 and a half hours during the part of the day with the most direct sunlight.  And, despite the fact that we bought sunscreen for them and encouraged them to put it on carefully, two of them were burned.  😦

We went home for showers and then we met my dad at the Chinese buffet.  This turned out to be Julia’s favorite meal of the entire trip.  And, I got to have crablegs.  Bliss x 3.

Leave a Reply

 
