Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Day 11…

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 13, 2009

On Tuesday, everyone encouraged Elena to go back to Macy’s to look at a winter coat she had left behind the day before.  (Going back to buy things or to return things is a recurring theme of this trip.)  So, back to Macy’s we went.  I wandered off to look at other things while they re-examined the coat.  I knew this would take some time.  I looked at the BCBG area and then discovered some 80% off racks in the nice denim area.  When I found a pair of Seven Jeans in my size, I decided to try them on.  They fit and although I don’t necessarily need another pair of high-end jeans, at that price, how could I resist?  I also had the 11% off coupon for being an out-of-towner, so by the time it was said and done, my total was $38!  The original price tag was $198!  Another customer standing at the counter whipped around and said, “What?!?  How did you do that?  I can’t believe it!  Where did you find these?”  I pointed her in the right direction.  Here is a picture of my new pants (they still need to be hemmed and the angle of the picture is wrong, but you can get the idea).  I love saving $160!

sevens

 Elena bought the coat – a grey, wool coat by Mavi with a lovely, large shawl collar.  It looked great on her and ended up being about $39 also.  You just can’t leave stuff like that behind.  Then, we headed out to Navy Pier.  It turned out to be a much longer walk than I had anticipated, but everyone hung in there.  It was windy, but warmer and sunnier than it had been, so we just enjoyed the weather.  Unfortunately, Navy Pier didn’t turn out to be as interesting as I had hoped it would be.  I also learned that if I wasn’t buying food, then these girls weren’t going to eat.  They just couldn’t see spending $5 for a sandwich if they could buy a shirt with that money.  Ok, got it.

After lunch, we walked along the lake front, back to water tower place.  The rest of the afternoon was spent at Hollister, Abercrombie and Aeropostale.  Then, it was time to take a cab to Pizzeria Uno for some deep dish – Chicago style.  We met two friends of mine from work – one a previous co-worker who moved to Chicago two years ago and the other a current co-worker who happened to be in Chicago that week for some meetings.  It was very fun for me to catch up with them over dinner.  Surprisingly, I don’t think the deep dish was the girls’ favorite.  Which, actually, isn’t all that surprising at all.   The pizza we had in Germany was very thin and crispy.  At any rate, I loved it.  Unfortunately, it didn’t love me back – I woke up in the night with an upset stomach.  That is always uncomfortable, but even more so knowing how thin the walls are in old Chicago buildings.  Oh well – there was nothing I could do about it.

Leave a Reply

 
