Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Day Nine…

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 6, 2009

I woke up to freezing rain beating against my window this morning at 5:30 am.  I read for a little while and then fell back asleep until about 8:30.  I heard some rustling from the other occupants of the house, so I got up and made an appearance to help get some breakfast going.  By the time we had breakfast and all cycled through the shower/hairdryer routine, it was after 11:00.  So, we headed out to see Chicago.

Somehow, between the time I woke up and the time we stepped out, the weather had improved.  By the time we climbed out of the subway, it was sunny!  The girls’ first reaction to the city was gratifying.  There were oohs and aahs all around.  I don’t think they realized that Chicago is a big city.  They kept saying “it looks like New York.”

We took some wonderful pictures in Millennium Park before it started to cloud up again.  The wind picked up and soon it was raining again.  No matter!  By then we had arrived on the Magnificent Mile – a shopper’s paradise.  We forged ahead.  I was very, very proud of the girls.  Despite hours of trying on clothes, they truly did shop with their eyes.  I think Svenja bought a camisole on sale at Forever XXI for less than $2 and Julia found a white button up she couldn’t live without.  They also purchased some postcards and Elena found a Chicago baseball cap for her brother.  But, that was it.  They kept reminding each other that Myrtle Beach is still to come and they want to have money left for that.

At 6:00 when the shops closed, we had a long way to walk back to the subway stop that would take us home.  It was snowing in earnest by then and really showing us the meaning of the “Windy City.”  It was pretty miserable.  At one point, we ran down into what looked like a transit station, but turned out to be an actual train (?) of some sort.  Not what we needed.  They were very disappointed to learn that we had to go back up again.  But, luckily, I was able to introduce them to the fatty deliciousness that is Cinnabon while we were down there.  I bought them each one to have for breakfast in the morning – so it turned out to be a happy accident that we went into the wrong place.

I was searching for my Garrett’s popcorn all day. I didn’t see it in either of the two places I thought I knew it to be.  I came home and looked it up on the internet, so I think I know where to look.  Tomorrow is another day and I am on a popcorn quest.

We made it home, tired and wet and cold, but all in one piece.  I made my favorite pasta for dinner and we watched “Love Actually.”  I snagged the computer and brought it into my room and closed the door.  Kind of rude, I know, but otherwise they are always on the computer!  I had some serious blogging to catch up on.  🙂

I heard quite a bit of sleepover type giggling coming from the next room for a while (I am sure my sister’s neighbors just loved that – these walls are not thick), so I think they are still having a good time.

It is late and I need to get some sleep before Day 10.  Good night!

Leave a Reply

 
