Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Dancer update…

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 2, 2009

This week I have been hosting the three German teenagers and also the weather has been horrible, so it has not been a good week for riding.  But, that is ok, Dancer always keeps things interesting by developing mysterious illnesses.  Once before in Germany, she developed these big lumps in her girth area.  The vet came out and believed that they were from the girth pinching her.  I knew this wasn’t true because the only people riding her at the time were myself and my trainer and I knew that we were tacking her up correctly.  Also, my girth is very squishy (on purpose) and she had been using it for several years with no problems.  I was nervous about these lumps until I saw her stomping at some flies – she brought her front feet up directly in contact with these swollen areas.  She was doing it to herself!  Time and more fly spray healed these wounds.

So, last week when I noticed similar swellings, I was not too concerned.  But, then on Monday, a long, tight, hot swollen area developed right in front of udder area.  It was really difficult to take a good picture of it…this is about as good as I could get.  The area in question is the grey part on her belly to the right of the green blanket hangin in the background.

belly-swelling-mar31-2This concerned me.  On Tuesday night she was noticeably puny looking and was very sensitive in that area.  So, yesterday, the vet came out.  When I looked up “lateral edema” on the internet, all kinds of horrible things came up (of course).  But, after he examined her, and we determined that the lump was less tight and less painful than it had been the night before, he concluded that it was the result of fluid (swelling) draining down from an injury on her hip area and collecting under her belly.  He believes it is already being reabsorbed by her body and should be gone in a few days to a week. 

Gas to drive to the barn: $2.00

Lunch from the McDonalds drive through: $5.00

Barn call and vet examination: $70

Peace of mind that my horse isn’t dying of Equine Infectious Anemia or Pigeon Fever: Priceless!

Leave a Reply

 
