Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Day four…

Posted by mandyhuckins on April 1, 2009

The girls spent a very rainy morning playing cards, Guitar Hero and checking their email on line.  I suggested some rainy day activities such as going bowling, skating or to see a movie – but they chose to go to the mall.  (Didn’t I tell you these girls were following in my footsteps?)  After a lunch of individual homemade pizzas, Colin dropped them off at the mall.  We were a little worried because the mall here is pretty small…but when we went back a few hours later to pick them up and take them to dinner, they came out all smiles with plenty of shopping bags.   They were also wearing completely new outfits – completely new.  This time, they discovered Charlotte Russe.  “Everything was so cheap,” they exclaimed, “we couldn’t help it!”  I know the feeling….  I shared with them my new favorite excuse for shopping – doing it to help the American economy.  So, thanks for your contribution girls.  I certainly did my part for Germany when I lived there.

We took them to dinner at Buffalo Wild Wing.  They are familiar with “wings” but I am not sure they had ever had them.  They said they liked spicy things…but when the “medium” wings came out, they found them very, very spicy.  We had a big pile of nachos as a starter and they really liked those.

When we came home, they went into their room for awhile and then they came back out in sweats with their hair pulled up into loose, messy buns on the top of their heads.  They said, “how do we look?  This is our American style.”  Hmmm….I wonder what they saw at that mall?  There is no telling.  So, beware Americans – Europeans think we are slobs. 

This morning they are going to an American high school with a teen-aged girl I know from the stables.  They are attending the German class and I think they will be asked to speak to the class about life in Germany and their impressions on America, etc.  Poor girls….I hope the boys leave them alone.  I can’t wait for them to get back tonight and tell me all about it.

Leave a Reply

 
