Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Day three…

Posted by mandyhuckins on March 31, 2009

Today, I was back to work.  So, kind and gentle hubby took the girls to lunch (Taco Bell) and to our lovely outdoor shopping center where he said they went crazy when they saw Hollister.  As soon as he parked – they jumped out and ran off.  He took his laptop to the bakery and waited for the shopping frenzy to abate (about 3 hours, I think).  This evening we left them at home alone for a few hours while I went to ride and hubby went to the gym.  Everything was still intact when we got home.  🙂  I marinated some chicken breasts in a garlic vinaigrette and we grilled them for dinner.  Roasted fingerling potatoes, arugula salad, garden peas, sauteed peppers, onions and mushrooms, and fresh baked (from frozen) french rolls were our accompaniments. 

Here is a cumulative total of “funny” things which I plan to expand as the trip progresses:

4 trips to the grocery store, 3 loads of laundry, 1 backed-up toilet

Barn update: Dancer has a mysterious swelling on her abdomen.  Luckily, a team of vets and vet students are coming to our stable today to give spring shots, so hopefully they can have a look.  More vet bills – yay!   And, speaking of vet bills, one arrived in the mail yesterday all the way from Germany.  How interesting that he should have my new address while his niece is visiting me.  The bill is for 637 Euros – almost $1,000.  Nice.  There is no description of the services provided, just a list of two invoices.  One is dates April 24th and matches an invoice that I already paid before I left Germany.  The other is dated August 4th.  I would like to know how he treated my horse two months after she left the country.  Luckily, I have a German speaking person staying in my house to help me sort it out.   She sent an email on my behalf and we will see what happens.

Leave a Reply

 
