Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

One exhausted mare and one bad, bad pony

Posted by mandyhuckins on March 20, 2009

I think I have been pushing Dancer a little to hard in preparation for this show.  Today, she just seemed worn out.  To be honest, I was too after teaching a lesson and riding the bad, bad pony (more on that in a second).  So, I just rode her long and low today for about 25 minutes.  We also practiced some halts.   I think I won’t ride her tomorrow.  I will just bathe her and get her ready to go.  So, the next time I am on her – it will be at the show! 

The pony, Louie, is not coming with us.  He has been steadily getting worse all week.  He was a horror for the teen-aged girl who was riding him today and when I got on him this evening, he tried some mean tricks he has never tried with me before: really tossing his head and threatening to buck, grabbing the bit and kind of running away and “giraffing” his neck.  He is an un-happy boy.  I spoke with the barn owner and we both agree that he is not ready to go to a show.  We don’t want him to have a bad experience.  And, it looks like I am back to being his only rider.  I am going to have to start over at square one I think and build his trust back and stop him from doing mean things.  With horses, you expect to have some progress and then some regression, but I wouldn’t have expected him to regress past the point where we started when I first put a saddle on him.  Poor boy.  He has such a good heart – I think he is just trying to tell me that he needs more of my calm, patient attention.  That will be next week’s project I suppose.

Leave a Reply

 
