Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Rain, rain – go away! (and other show related news)

Posted by mandyhuckins on March 17, 2009

It has poured rain for the past three days.  Today dawned sunny – so hopefully the ring will have dried up enough by this afternoon to get in a ride.  I filled out my entry paperwork and signed my check last night, so there is no turning back now.  In 5 days, I will be riding in a show!  My barn owner has asked me to ride her chestnut thoroughbred, Tempo (his show name is “Mind the Music,” isn’t that cute?).  So, I will ride him in Training Level, tests 1 and 2.  Here is a link to a video we took of me riding him at home.  He is currently for sale, so we thought having a video might help to advertise him.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86b6jPjqWBc 

I will ride Dancer in 1st level, test 1.  And, because I thought it would be suicide to attempt to ride three horses in one day at a dressage show (my first), I am not going to ride Louie.  But, don’t worry, a lovely young lady from the stable has agreed to ride him in Intro test A and B.  I hope, I hope, I hope he is good for her.

I bought a pair of used white breeches on eBay last week and they arrived yesterday.  They are a little big (which is much better than a little small), but I think they will work just fine.  In a fit of panic, I ordered a white saddle pad with black piping, some white gloves and a barrette and hair net combo from Dover Saddlery yesterday.  I sure hope they make it by Friday so that I didn’t waste my money.  I chose inexpensive options and I had a $20 gift certificate, so I won’t be wasting much money in any case.  I have a pair of dress boots I bought a few years ago on sale, but have never worn.  I tried riding in them last week and they killed!  They pinched and dug into my skin and were very stiff.  Based on some hot tips from others at the stables, I tried a super-quick break in trick.  I poured hot water into them and then dumped it out and put them on.  Then, I stood in a bathtub filled with hot water for about 20 minutes.  Then, I got out and did squats and leg bends and walked around.  Then, I took them off and oiled them.  It made a HUGE mess and felt totally disgusting.  Hopefully, when I put them on this afternoon to ride, they will feel better than before. 

The only conundrum left is my shirt.  I don’t have a riding shirt and I thought that as a barn we were going to wear the Seven Oaks Polo shirts, but in talking with other riders last night, I don’t think they are planning to do that anymore.  So….what to do?  I have a sleeveless collared black shirt.  In theory, this would look very striking – black horse, black saddle and bridle, white saddle pad with a small amount of black piping, black boots, white breeches and a black shirt.  But, technically, this is not the approved dressage look.  Then again, this is a schooling show….I just don’t know.  I am sure I will come up with something by Saturday.  If worse comes to worse, I can probably go to Wal-Mart and buy a plain white polo shirt.  That would probably be acceptable.

Leave a Reply

 
