Great Expectations

or “My Life in Blog Sounds Much Cooler Than It Really Is”

Back on the Horse

Posted by mandyhuckins on March 7, 2009

I am back on the horse metaphorically and literally.  I am finally getting back to my blog.  What is it about March that gives me a resurgance of energy and a desire to get things done?  I think it may be that I am just excited about better/warmer weather and longer days right around the corner.  Also, I have really been enjoying reading other blogs, and while I don’t pretend this one will really attract an audience, I want to record my thoughts for myself and for posterity. 

Now for the literal – Dancer has had a run of bad luck this winter.  She has had every problem under the sun, plus we have had some very bad weather – both of which have conspired to keep me from regular riding.  But, no more!  I have been on her 3 times this week already and I plan to ride both days this weekend.  If I can just keep the weird skin irritation, the “scratches” and the swollen leg well…not to mention the eyes, then we will be in business for some serious training this spring.

I have developed several goals for this year.  1) I want to read at least 55 books.  I will be posting book reviews on this blog, so you can help me keep track.  2) I want to post to this blog several times per week. 3) My riding goals are to develop: stellar transitions between and within the gaits; a truly square halt; a strong, slow, controlled canter on both leads; the counter canter; a strong shoulder-in and half pass at the trot; lovely basic changes of lead.  That is not too much to ask, right?  Ha, ha!

Well, there, now it is out in the open.  We will see how it goes…

2 Responses to “Back on the Horse”

  1. Lori said

    YIPPEEEEEE!! So glad to see you back in the saddle again!!! I was just thinking today that I would love to see you catch up with your blog!! Hooray!!!

  2. mandyhuckins said

    Lori, you are so wonderful and encouraging! It sounds like you have some VERY exciting things going on in your life right now. I am THRILLED for you.

Leave a Reply

 
